Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Persuading people to distrust WP
> Wikimedia Discussion > General Discussion
KamrynMatika
I am a college student [that's UK college, not the american kind, so 17-18 year olds] and in class all the time I see people saying things like, "Oh I'll just look it up on Wikipedia", "Yeah I get all my homework off Wikipedia", etc.

I've tried pointing out that Wikipedia is inherently unreliable and I get met with protests of "Oh, but it's usually reliable!".

What can I say to these people to show them that it really, really isn't? Bear in mind that claims of "Oh well Jimbo Wales is using Wikipedia to fund his reign of terror and there's this really bad admin called SlimVirgin who kills babies" or whatever isn't going to go down well.

Does anyone have some examples of outright lies that have been published in the Wikipedia mainspace for a good length of time? Some scientific articles which make no sense? Things like that. Obvious examples of Wikipedia's uselessness; it's a lot easier to point to specific examples, 'cause you can't argue with them, and you guys know WP history a lot more than I sad.gif The only controversy I can think of is the Siegenthaler (sp?) one but nobody knows who he is here. And I want to convince my friends that using Wikipedia is a really stupid habit to get into.

Thanks in advance smile.gif
JohnA
QUOTE(KamrynMatika @ Mon 8th October 2007, 11:49pm) *

I am a college student [that's UK college, not the american kind, so 17-18 year olds] and in class all the time I see people saying things like, "Oh I'll just look it up on Wikipedia", "Yeah I get all my homework off Wikipedia", etc.

I've tried pointing out that Wikipedia is inherently unreliable and I get met with protests of "Oh, but it's usually reliable!".