Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Question about safe harbours
> Wikimedia Discussion > General Discussion
Robert Roberts
First a disclaimer - I have no legal knowledge so might have got this entirely wrong.

My understanding of the "safe harbour" protection that google and others have for - is that they argue that they only provide a venue for content (in google's case with youtube) and that for that reason, they cannot be got at for copyright violations.

From what I understand - there is now an argument being made, that because they do remove content, this creates an editorial connection and thus the idea of being a "safe harbour" does not apply?

If that's right - what does that mean for the foundation and the removal of content from wikipedia by staff members of the foundation?

Hopefully someone can put me straight - or tell me I'm talking a lot of rubbish biggrin.gif
Kelly Martin
QUOTE(Robert Roberts @ Fri 18th July 2008, 10:52am) *

First a disclaimer - I have no legal knowledge so might have got this entirely wrong.

My understanding of the "safe harbour" protection that google and others have for - is that they argue that they only provide a venue for content (in google's case with youtube) and that for that reason, they cannot be got at for copyright violations.

From what I understand - there is now an argument being made, that because they do remove content, this creates an editorial connection and thus the idea of being a "safe harbour" does not apply?

If that's right - what does that mean for the foundation and the removal of content from wikipedia by staff members of the foundation?

Hopefully someone can put me straight - or tell me I'm talking a lot of rubbish biggrin.gif