Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: I am a professor...
> Wikimedia Discussion > General Discussion
Pages: 1, 2, 3
thekohser
How many of these Wikipedia users do you think are lying?
LessHorrid vanU
What is the prize?
thekohser
QUOTE(LessHorrid vanU @ Mon 7th June 2010, 3:32pm) *

What is the prize?

No prize. It's crowdsourcing. You get the satisfaction of knowing you made the world better by helping to out fake college professors on Wikipedia. evilgrin.gif
Moulton
What is the prize?

Disappointment, disillusionment, and chagrin.
LessHorrid vanU
QUOTE(thekohser @ Mon 7th June 2010, 8:52pm) *

What is the prize?

No prize. It's crowdsourcing. You get the satisfaction of knowing you made the world better by helping to out fake college professors on Wikipedia. evilgrin.gif

QUOTE(Moulton @ Mon 7th June 2010, 8:52pm) *

What is the prize?

Disappointment, disillusionment, and chagrin.

I think I will take the Mystery box... Oooh, a full Professorship in Applied Linguistics from somewhere east of the Danube!
thekohser
User:Professor Dr. may be my favorite. His user page says:
My name is not important. I am a professor at a university and like the academic world. Wikipedia helps to improve the knowledge of human beings, and this is what makes me feel is worth contributing.

Professor Dr.

Only 40 edits to Wikipedia over the course of over 3.5 years, with the only multiple-edit pages being:

International University in Geneva (19)
List of universities in Switzerland (7)
Education in Switzerland (2)

I wonder what Wikipedia has to say about that International University in Geneva that Professor Dr. thinks is so important:

International University in Geneva (IUG) is a private university founded in 1997 and located at the ICC, International Center Cointrin, Geneva, Switzerland.