Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Wikipedia - Can Teenagers Write An Encyclopedia? - Global Politician
> Media Forums > News Worth Discussing
Google News

Wikipedia - Can Teenagers Write An Encyclopedia?
Global Politician, NY - 12 minutes ago
The vast majority of Wikipedia contributors and editors are under the age of 25. Many of the administrators (senior editors) are in their teens. ...
blissyu2
Wow. Perhaps the best article ever to have been picked up by our RSS Feed Readers.

So many quotes, but I'd be filling this up with it if I included them all. Just one:

Google has changed its search algorithm in late 2005-early 2006. I have been monitoring 154 keywords on Google since 1999. Of these, the number one (#1) search result in 128 keywords is now a Wikipedia article. More than a quarter (38 out of 128) of these "articles" are what the Wikipedia calls "stubs" (one or two sentences to be expanded by Wikipedians in the future). Between 7 and 10 of the articles that made it to the much-coveted number one spot are ... empty pages, placeholders, yet to be written! (These results were obtained in early 2007).

Naturally (and sensibly) Sam doesn't reveal what the articles are, but I would suggest that that is pretty accurate. Wikipedia most greatly affects school students at an age where they begin to seriously write reference papers, between the ages of 12 and 18. Teenagers, in other words. At this age students don't yet know how to write quality essays and quality pieces on anything, and they are prone to take shortcuts. Teachers diligently teach how to use Google and other search engines (many teachers also take shortcuts and just teach Google), and lo and behold they are now therefore showing Wikipedia.